Building a Better DVR: Adventures in Consumer Electronics Design

One of the largest clients for my Human Interface consultancy (www.humancomputing.com)  this past year has been TiVo, the folks who brought us both the DVR and the ridiculously cute corporate trademark.

I’ve just completed a long contract there, which–among other challenges–saw me helping design their next generation of high-end DVRs and streaming video boxes. This was a terrific project which I was lucky enough to see through end-to-end. On it, I got to do everything from sawing apart old circuit boards and visiting Radio Shack in the middle of the night to assemble testing prototypes… to doing screen design… setting up user studies… and even working with an exceptionally clever engineer to figure out how to get the box installed (and the cable guy back on his way) in a third of the time it used to require.

Best of all, I got to meet and work with some amazingly smart folks both on the user experience team and throughout the company. I may even sign on more adventures there next year, but for now I’m very happy to be back in my robot-strewn office at Human Computing, catching up on correspondence, and looking forward to a terrific Christmas with my family.

2 responses to “Building a Better DVR: Adventures in Consumer Electronics Design

  1. TiVo Fanboy here… Nice work!

  2. Happy trails! It was great working with you on the Preview and Premiere Elite; I’m going to miss you, and hope our paths cross soon & often!

Leave a Reply

